Our Staff

Profiles and details of the AIS academic staff can be found under their respective programme pages.

Below is a list of our management team and the student services marketing staff.

Executive Team

Y. S. Hsieh
Chairman
BSc Military Academy Taiwan

John Wood
CEO
BEng CYCU Taiwan

Dr Julia Hennessy
President
PhD (AUT), MEd (Victoria), MMgt (Massey), PG Dip HSM (Massey), BA (Victoria), DipN (Wellington Polytechnic)
Email: juliah@ais.ac.nz

Richard Smith
Deputy CEO / Academic Registrar
BA (Hons) Well
Email: richards@ais.ac.nz 

Academic Directors

Prof. Richard Goodall
Director for Business Administration
BEd Monash, BCom Melb, MEc Sydney, EdD Nevada, FCIS, AccMLEADR
Email: richardg@ais.ac.nz

Terry Leotta
Director for English Language and Learning Support
BA, MA (Hons) Auck, CELTA, IDLTM
Email: terryl@ais.ac.nz

Leigh Quadling-Miernik
Director for Business, Hospitality and Tourism
M.Ed (elearning), Dip.T.E.F.L.A, BSc, DipTeaching

Dr Michael Watts
Academic Head of Information Technology Programmes
BSc (Hons), PhD Otago
Email: michaelw@ais.ac.nz 

Academic Leaders

Dr Adam Brown
Senior Lecturer
MA, Univ of Edinburgh, PhD, Univ of Edinburgh, Cert TEFL, Aston Univ
Email: adamb@ais.ac.nz

Dr Semisi Taumoepeau
Academic Leader of Tourism Programmes / Director of Pasifika Studies and Relations
BSc Auck, CertTP Bradford, CertTM Hawai’I, MSc Surrey, DBA USC

Zaina Theresa
Academic Leader, Hospitality Programmes
BSc, BHM, PGDipHA, MIHM (Hons.)

Student Services - Marketing

Our marketing staff are your first point of contact for information about AIS, our programmes, and how to apply, so please do not hesitate to contact our Student Services - Marketing officers on the telephone numbers and email addresses listed below:

Stephen Johnson
Marketing Director
Phone: +64 9 815 3763
Phone: +64 21 414 811 
Email: stephenj@ais.ac.nz

China

Scarlett Li
Marketing Manager - China
Phone: +64 9 815 3761
Email: junyal@ais.ac.nz

Weijun (David) Liu
Marketing Manager - China
Phone: +64 9 815 3778
Email: weijunl@ais.ac.nz 

Indian Sub-Continent

Kimberly Chang
Marketing Manager - India and Subcontinent
Phone: +64 9 815 3776
Email: kimberlyc@ais.ac.nz

Mihir Gohil
Marketing Manager - India and Subcontinent
Phone: +64 9 815 3764
Email: mihirg@ais.ac.nz 

South East Asia/Middle East

Djaja Kurniawan Kusno
Senior Marketing Executive
Phone: +64 9 815 3779
Email: djajak@ais.ac.nz 

Domestic/Pasifika 

Malia Uele
Marketing Executive
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 846
Email: maliau@ais.ac.nz 

South America and Russia

Karolina Cardenas
Market Manager - South America and Russia
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 638
Email: karolinac@ais.ac.nz

Japan

Yu Morikawa
Marketing Manager - Japan
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 842
Email: japan@ais.ac.nz

Nozomi Ito
Marketing Manager - Japan
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 842
Email: japan@ais.ac.nz 

Korea

Sue Park
Marketing Manager - Korea
Phone: +64 9 815 3777
Email: suep@ais.ac.nz 

Student Support

Alarna Asher
Industry Placement Manager
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext. 821
Phone: +64 21 223 2847
Email: alarnaa@ais.ac.nz

Ashley Brown Andersen
Student Support Manager
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext. 824
Email: ashleyb@ais.ac.nz 

Leah Guttenbiel
Student Careers Centre Supervisor
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 838 
Email: leahg@ais.ac.nz

Ngaire Leota
Homestay Coordinator
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 632 
Phone: +64 21 0849 7828
Email: homestay@ais.ac.nz

Tamendi Pranish
Study Skills Advisor
MA TESOL (NZ), PGDipSLT (NZ), B. Ed (Language and Literature) (Fiji), DipTchg (Fiji), Cert TEFL (Sydney), Cert TESL
Phone: +64 9 815 1717 ext 841
Email: tamendip@ais.ac.nz